Skip to content

Mandy's pre race ABC's – Adrenaline, Butterflies, and Concentration

April 26, 2011

Have you noticed you heart beating a bit faster this week?  Is your stomach housing half of the Wild Animal Parks Butterfly exhibit?  Are you having a hard time concentrating on getting things done?

ME TOO!!!

The excitement, anticipation, and nervousness really set in for me a few days before a race.  I am pretty sure that through out training I block from my mind the reality that yes, I will have to swim in a lake! The reality has set in and it’s not sitting well with me.  I feel jittery… like I was someone just scared the ninnies out of me and I received an adrenaline rush…. except it’s not going away!

My stomach is flipping and flopping and frantically filling up with beautiful butterflies.  I am finding my self just wishing for a moment of rest, a blip of forgetfulness.  I can’t concentrate.  I can ‘t focus.

Is this normal???  I think?  Are you nervous?

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Conni Miller permalink

    I keep alternating between feeling great and that I will have a blast with Cindy and Cheryl and then thinking, “What have I done?!?!” 🙂

  2. 100%…embrace the excitement! it took me YEARS to realize it was excitement NOT anxiety. it sounds like you are embracing the process….enjoy the journey and every minute! follow you on twitter…so im sure ill see updates. i, too, am racing this weekend, long course wildflower….getting super excited, also….lovin’ racing season!

  3. Dianne Fink permalink

    I am so excited about the race this year! Just as nervous as last year, getting jumpy about coming to a stop at the end of the bike and falling in front of everyone – I am still in the process of figuring out just how to stop this bike with these funny clip-on shoes. But at the same time I am looking forward to sharing this incredible experience with my sister Sandi and my other sister cheering us on. Oh, and by the way- the recording in my head, “what have I gotten myself into again” plays over and over! 🙂

Leave a Reply

